Book Review: Stick Man

It’s book review time again. Mummy took me to the library the other day – can I just say, wow! There’s hundreds and millions of books and you just take them away. You don’t give them any money, you just give them a special card and that’s it. More people need to know about this, it’s amazing. Anyway…

We got loads of brilliant books out when we were there but my favourite one was called Stick Man. We also got a book called The Gruffalo and Mummy says the same people made both of these books – they’re called Julia Donaldson and Axel Scheffler. Which are surprisingly hard names for a little boy like me to say, by the way, so please make a note as I won’t be repeating them.

Stick Man is a man who looks like a stick. I know, deceptively simple, right?! It’s genius. I make Mummy and Daddy read this over and over again. It rhymes and the words are just right for me, I’ve learned some new ones and I can say nearly all of them. I also really love joining in with “I’m Stick Man, I’m Stick Man, I’m Stick Man, that’s me!” And I love Mummy and Daddy reading it over and over again because it gets really scary for a little while then it all ends happily. If you want a grown-up’s point of view, my Mummy has done a review on her blog, if you click here. And if you want to buy it, you can click here.

Mummy says I have to take Stick Man back to the library soon so other boys and girls can read it, but if I’m good she’s going to buy it for me. Which means that I will be able to listen to it over and over and over and over…

About this entry